Who we are

ALACHO is the representative body for local authority housing in Scotland.  The chief housing officer from each council is invited to regular meetings to discuss key housing issues affecting local authorities allowng issues to be debated and opinions formulated.

 

The key objectives of the organisation are noted below.

The aims and objectives of the organisation are primarily, but not necessarily limited to: 

 

  • Promoting the interests of Scottish local housing authorities

 

  • Promoting the sharing of information and good practice within Scottish local housing authorities and between local authorities and other agencies

 

  • Promoting positive and productive relationships between Scottish local housing authorities and other agencies

 

How we are governed

ALACHO is led by two co chairs and a vice chair supported by five executive members.  The Executive meets 8 weekly and its role is to:

 

  • Oversee the delivery of ALACHO's work plan

 

  • Discuss and agree on the collective view (or otherwise) of ALACHO  on key issues

 

  • Provide support and guidance to the Policy Manager

 

The name and position of each Executive member is noted below.  ALACHO holds an AGM each year in December when the election of Executive members is conducted.

 

Chairs

Annette Finnan -Co Chair

South Lanarkshire Council

annette.finnan@southlanarkshire.gsx.gov.uk

John Mills - Co Chair

Fife Council

john.mills@fife.gov.uk

Cathie Fancy Vice Chair

Scottish Borders Council

Fancy@scotborders.gsx.gov.uk

Executive members

David Burns

South Ayrshire Council

David.Burns@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

Alistair Shaw

West Lothian Council

alistair.shaw@westlothian.gov.uk

Elaine Scott

City of Edinburgh Council

Elaine.Scott@edinburgh.gov.uk

Grant MacIntosh

East Dunbartonshire Council

Grant.Mackintosh@eastdunbarton.gov.uk

John Kerr

West Dunbartonshire Council

john.kerr@west-dunbarton.gov.uk