Who we are

ALACHO is the representative body for local authority housing in Scotland.  The chief housing officer from each council is invited to regular meetings to discuss key housing issues affecting local authorities allowng issues to be debated and opinions formulated.

 

The key objectives of the organisation are noted below.

The aims and objectives of the organisation are primarily, but not necessarily limited to: 

 

  • Promoting the interests of Scottish local housing authorities

 

  • Promoting the sharing of information and good practice within Scottish local housing authorities and between local authorities and other agencies

 

  • Promoting positive and productive relationships between Scottish local housing authorities and other agencies

 

How we are governed

ALACHO is governed by a group of senior housing officers called the Executive.  The Executive meets 8 weekly and its role is to:

 

  • Oversee the delivery of ALACHO's work plan

 

  • Discuss and agree on the collective view (or otherwise) of ALACHO  on key issues

 

  • Provide support and guidance to the Policy Manager

 

The name and position of each Executive member is noted below.  ALACHO holds an AGM each year in December when the election of Executive members is conducted.

 

Executive members

Elaine McHugh - Chair

North Lanarkshire Council

mcuhughe@northlangsx.gov.uk

John Mills - Vice Chair

Fife Council

john.mills@fife.gov.uk

Annette Finnan - Vice Chair

South Lanarkshire Council

annette.finnan@southlanarkshire.gsx.gov.uk

David Burns

South Ayrshire Council

David.Burns@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

Alistair Shaw

West Lothian Council

alistair.shaw@westlothian.gov.uk

Cathie Fancy

Scottish Borders Council

Fancy@scotborders.gsx.gov.uk

Michael Thain

City of Edinburgh Council

Michael.Thain@edinburgh.gov.uk

John Mills

Fife Council

John.Mills@fife.gov.uk